Kanaya Hotel History House
Kanaya’s house was originally a residence of samurai warriors during the Edo period. For its unique architectural characteristics， Kanaya Cottage Inn was called “Samurai House” by its foreign guests.
In 1893， Zenichiro relocated his business and opened “Kanaya Hotel” on the top of the hill that overlooks the River Daiya. It was Japan’s first full-fledged western-style resort hotel and has been in operation at the same place to date.
The Kanaya Samurai House and warehouse were registered as a National Tangible Cultural Property in 2014 and opened to the public as the Kanaya Hotel History House in 2015."
|Address||1-25 Honcho， Nikko City， Tochigi|
|Business Hours||〔Mar.–Nov.〕 9:30–17:00 (ticketing closes at 16:30)〔Dec.–Feb.〕 10:00 –15:00 (ticketing closes at 14:30)|
|Days Closed for Business||〔Dec.–Feb.〕 2 or 3 non-business days a month|
|Price||Adult 550 yen Children 275 yen (6–12 yrs.old)|
|Map Code||367 311 105*44|
The Nikko area, in the northwestern part of the prefecture, is particularly mountainous. In the midst of the rich nature, including the 2,486-meter-high volcano Mt. Nantai, Lake Chuzenji, and Kegon Falls, there are numerous shrines and temples that are registered as UNESCO Cultural Heritage sites. From Kinugawa Onsen to Kawaji Onsen, hot springs can also be found throughout the area. There are a wide range of outdoor activities to enjoy as well, such as stand-up paddleboarding in the summer and snowshoeing in the winter.